Warrington 16 Wigan 10

  • Match report as Wigan Warriors lose to Warrington Wolves at the Halliwell Jones Stadium on Friday night

  • Wigan go down to a 16-10 defeat in first loss of the season

  • Liam Marshall and Tony Clubb with Wigan’s tries


Wigan tasted league defeat for the first time in 2018 as they went down to Warrington 16-10 at the Halliwell Jones Stadium.

The Wolves took an eight-point lead early on as Bryson Goodwin added a penalty goal before Tom Lineham crossed over in the left corner after a series of passes. Goodwin made it 8-0 with the kick.

In the second half, Goodwin added another two points for the Wire after a penalty was given for a dangerous tackle by Sam Tomkins. Ryan Atkins then touched down for Warrington which was followed by Goodwin’s goal.

Liam Marshall gave Wigan hope just after the hour mark as he scored in the left corner. Tony Clubb’s last minute effort pulled Wigan closer but it was too late as the Cherry and Whites lost out.


After returning to the UK from their tour of New South Wales Shaun Wane named a strong side. John Bateman returned and came in at centre to replaced Dan Sarginson (rested).

For Warrington, Tyrone Roberts returned to the starting 13 after a few weeks out with a knee injury whilst Sitaleki Akauola made his debut from the bench.


The first points of the game went to the home side as Tony Clubb’s late tackle on Tyrone Roberts awarded Warrington with a penalty. Bryson Goodwin converted the kick and Wire were 2-0 up after three minutes.

Wigan were slow to get out of the starting blocks and Warrington went further in front in the eighth minute as Tom Lineham darted over in the corner. Mitch Brown was allowed space and Warrington shifted the ball onto the right and Lineham eased over the line. Goodwin added the two points.

After their try, Warrington forced pressure on the Wigan line with a number of drop outs but the Warriors hung on and stood strong in defence.

Just before the break, the Wolves had a golden chance to extend their lead as they got the ball out onto the right side but Ben Murdoch-Masila’s offload was knocked-on by Ryan Atkins as he looked to score.

Warrington Wolves 8–0 Wigan Warriors


Warrington came close to adding a second try early in the second half as Roberts raced away on the right side. The scrum half put a kick in over the top which was chased by Murdoch-Masila but he knocked-on and Wigan got the ball back.

The hosts went 10-0 up eight minutes into the second 40 as Goodwin kicked a penalty goal after a dangerous tackle from Sam Tomkins on Stefan Ratchford.

Goodwin had the chance to add another two points soon after with a penalty but he missed.

The Wolves got their second try through Atkins despite the decision going upstairs to the video referee. The centre acted quickly and touched the ball down over the whitewash and Goodwin made it 16-0 with the boot.

Wigan got on the scoreboard just after the hour mark as Liam Marshall crossed over in the corner. A great move on the left side resulted in the winger scoring but Tomkins’ kick went wide of the post.

The Warriors continued to attack and had several sets deep inside the Warrington half but were unable to force their way over. The Wolves defence was eventually broken when Tony Clubb crashed over from close range but it was too late as the hooter sounded after Sam Tomkins’ conversion.

Warrington Wolves 16–10 Wigan Warriors

Match Details

Warrington Wolves– 16

Tries: Lineham, Atkins

Goals: Goodwin 4/5

Wigan Warriors– 10

Tries: Marshall, Clubb

Goals: S.Tomkins 1/2

HT: 8-0

Attendance: 12,012

Warrington Wolves: 1. Stefan Ratchford, 2. Tom Lineham, 3. Bryson Goodwin, 4. Ryan Atkins, 21. Mitch Brown, 6. Kevin Brown, 7. Tyrone Roberts, 8. Chris Hill, 9. Daryl Clark, 10. Mike Cooper, 11. Ben Currie, 12. Jack Hughes, 34. Ben Westwood

Interchange: 13. Ben Murdoch-Masila, 14. Dominic Crosby, 16. Sitaleki Akauola, Declan Patton

Wigan Warriors: 1. Sam Tomkins, 2. Tom Davies, 14. John Bateman, 4. Oliver Gildart, 22. Liam Marshall, 6. George Williams, 7. Sam Powell, 8. Tony Clubb, 9. Tommy Leuluai, 10. Ben Flower, 11. Joel Tomkins, 12. Liam Farrell, 13. Sean O’Loughlin

Interchange: 20. Morgan Escare, 15. Ryan Sutton, 19. Willie Isa, 17. Taulima Tautai

Referee - Ben Thaler

Official Partners