Catalans 23 Wigan 32

  • Match report as Wigan beat Catalans 32-23 in Perpignan

  • Warriors come from 21-0 down to beat Dragons

  • Dan Sarginson, Oliver Gildart, Joe Burgess, Liam Farrell, Sam Tomkins and Tony Clubb with Wigan’s tries


Wigan came back from a 21-point deficit to beat Catalans Dragons at the Stade Gilbert Brutus in Perpignan.

Tries from Benjamin Jullien and David Mead helped the Dragons lead 15-0 at the break. Benjamin Garcia’s try just after half-time saw the lead extend to 21-0 before Wigan started a fightback.

Dan Sarginson started the comeback before Oliver Gildart touched down on the opposite side. Joe Burgess added another on the left edge before Liam Farrell scored again down that side to bring Wigan within three points.

Sam Tomkins’ try meant Wigan led for the first time with just 15 minutes to go. The home side fought back but were unable to get the try they desperately needed meaning Tony Clubb’s late try sealed the win for Wigan.


The Warriors made a number of changes to the team that beat Hull KR on Easter Monday as Joe Burgess, Sean O’Loughlin, Sam Powell and Tony Clubb all came back into the side.

O’Loughlin started the game at prop with Shaun Wane using John Bateman at loose forward.

Michael Mcilorum started for Catalans as he played against the Warriors for the first time.


The Warriors had a Joe Burgess try ruled out for obstruction ten minutes in and the home side soon took full advantage as Benjamin Jullien raced through to score. Tony Gigot’s conversion making it 6-0 inside 13 minutes.

Catalans started to get on top and extended their lead in the 25th minute when a ball steal saw Gigot slot over a penalty goal.

Struggling to get a foothold in the game, Wigan’s task was made even more difficult when George Williams left the field.

Wigan had a rare attack just minutes before the break but Sam Tomkins’ kick found David Mead who raced the length of the field to score Catalans’ second.

Gigot converted Mead’s try and added a drop-goal at the end of the half meaning his side were 15-0 ahead at the break.

HALF TIME: Catalans Dragons 15-0 Wigan Warriors


Wigan needed a good start to the second half but it was Catalans who scored the first try just two minutes in when Benjamin Garcia flew onto a flat pass to score, Gigot’s boot making it 21-0.

The travelling army of Wigan fans were left fearing the worst but their team had other ideas.

Dan Sarginson started the fightback after good hands down the right side saw him glide over.

A penalty goal from Gigot saw Catalans edge further ahead again at 23-4 but Wigan were soon over the whitewash again. Sean O’Loughlin, covering on the left side for Williams, was pulling the strings and his move with Liam Farrell and Oliver Gildart saw the latter finish a 50-metre effort.

Now 23-10 behind the Warriors scored again as Joe Burgess was on the end of another good move on the left. It went up as a no try for obstruction but that decision was overruled and the try stood.

Wigan were tearing Catalans to shreds down the left and Liam Farrell was the next to benefit as O’Loughlin put him over for Wigan’s fourth of the half.

Sam Tomkins was on target with the boot again and it was the Wigan full-back who put the Warriors in front as he snuck out of the back to race through, Wigan leading 26-23.

Catalans fought back and neared the Wigan line on a couple of occasions forcing a drop-out in the 70th minute. Their defence was dogged but too much for referee Liam Moore who sin-binned Mikael Simon in the 73rd minute for a spear tackle.

The home side continued to fight until the death but Tony Clubb’s 77th minute try sparked great celebrations on the field and in the away end as it sealed a great Wigan win.

FULL TIME: Catalans Dragons 23–32 Wigan Warriors


Catalans Dragons - 23

Tries: Julien, Mead, Garcia

Goals: Gigot 5/5 + 1DG

Wigan Warriors - 32

Tries: Sarginson, Gildart, Burgess, Farrell, S Tomkins, Clubb

Goals: S Tomkins 4/7

HT: 15-0

Catalans Dragons: 1. David Mead, 2. Jodie Broughton, 3. Iain Thornley, 4. Brayden Williame, 5. Fouad Yaha, 31. Tony Gigot, 6. Samisoni Langi, 15. Mickael Simon, 19. Michael Mcilorum, 10. Sam Moa, 21. Benjamin Jullien, 12. Benjamin Garcia, 13. Greg Bird

Interchange: 8. Remi Casty, 9. Paul Aiton, 14. Julian Bousquet, 17. Jason Baitieri

Wigan Warriors: 1. Sam Tomkins, 22. Liam Marshall, 3. Dan Sarginson, 4. Oliver Gildart, 5. Joe Burgess, 6. George Williams, 7. Sam Powell, 10. Ben Flower, 9. Tommy Leuluai, 13. Sean O’Loughlin, 19. Willie Isa, 12. Liam Farrell, 14. John Bateman

Interchange: 8. Tony Clubb, 15. Ryan Sutton, 25. Romain Navarrete, 30. Gabe Hamlin

Referee: Liam Moore

Attendance: 8,387

Official Partners