Three Legends Honoured

Three Legends Honoured

  • Three Wigan Greats Inducted into Hall of Fame
  • Frano Botica, Colin Clarke and Martin Offiah join list of greats
  • Players become the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth members of Hall of Fame

Wigan Rugby League Club are delighted to welcome three of the Club’s finest ever players, Frano Botica, Colin Clarke and Martin Offiah into the prestigious Wigan Rugby League Hall of Fame.

The three former players were formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at the DW Stadium on Friday evening ahead of Wigan’s First Utility Super League game with Hull FC.

Wigan Chairman, Ian Lenagan, who inducted the trio into the Hall of Fame, said:

“It is my privilege to welcome these three great former players and in Colin’s case, former coach too, into the Wigan Rugby League Hall of Fame.

“Frano, Colin and Martin are three of the greatest players to have represented the Wigan Club and it is fitting that their considerable efforts and achievements are recognised in this way.

“All three players played important roles for the Club during their time here and rightly take their place amongst elite company in Wigan’s Hall of Fame.”

The three new members take the total number of legends in the Wigan Rugby League Hall of Fame to 14 and are the first to join the Club’s pantheon since 2010.

Membership of the Wigan Rugby League Hall of Fame is restricted to players and coaches who hold an exceptional points, appearance or trophy record, or have simply made an outstanding contribution during a minimum period of 5 years at the Club, having been retired for at least 5 years.

Colin Clarke was in attendance at the DW Stadium and said:

“Thank you to everyone who voted for me. As a boy I dreamt of playing for Wigan Rugby League Club so to end up in the Hall of Fame is better than anything I could have ever imagined. Looking back at the many great players that have represented this Club I feel very honoured and privileged to be included in the Hall of Fame.”

Speaking via video message from New Zealand Frano Botica said:

“There have been many great players for play for Wigan so it certainly is an honour to be voted into the Wigan Hall of Fame. The memories I made over there have been amazing, with the players that I played with and with the fans who certainly made me feel welcome.”

Speaking about his induction Martin Offiah said:

“Thank you to everyone at the Wigan Club. The people that don’t get that much recognition like Mandy and Mary who I know still work in the office even to this day. To Ian Lenagan who has been a continued support in recent years and to the players that I played with, without whom I would not have scored so many tries. Last but not least, the fans. Thank you for cheering for me, thank you for inspiring me and thank you for voting me into the Wigan Hall of Fame.”

The three new members join Eric Ashton MBE, Dean Bell, Billy Boston MBE, Shaun Edwards OBE, Joe Egan, Andrew Farrell MBE, Ken Gee, Andy Gregory, Ellery Hanley MBE, Brian McTigue and Jim Sullivan in the Wigan Rugby League Hall of Fame.

The Wigan Club plan to make Hall of Fame Night an annual event to help celebrate the great history of the Club.

Frano Botica made 179 appearances for the Wigan Club from 1990 to 1995 scoring 66 tries, 827 goals and 13 drop-goals – a total of 1931 points.

Colin Clarke made 436 appearances for the Wigan Club from 1963 to 1978 scoring 75 tries and 225 points in total.

Martin Offiah made 159 appearances for the Wigan Club from 1991 to 1996 scoring 186 tries, 1 goal and 3 drop-goals – a total of 749 points.

Recent News & Media

Lam retro games on Wigan TV
Wiganers in Academy Origins squads
Magic Weekend announced
Wigan Warriors fuelled by Myprotein

Official Partners