Under-19s: Wigan 24-0 Leeds

Under-19s: Wigan 24-0 Leeds

  • Match report as Wigan Warriors Under-19s beat Leeds Rhinos Under-19s 24-0 at St Judes ARLFC on Tuesday night

  • Darrell Goulding’s side seal top spot for 2018 and will play a home semi-final in the play offs

  • James Barran (2), Ethan Havard and Samy Kibula with Wigan’s tries


Wigan Warriors Under-19s confirmed top spot in the Academy table for 2018 after an impressive 24-0 victory against Leeds Rhinos Under-19s on Tuesday night.

Two tries from James Barran in the space of five first half minutes gave Wigan a 12-0 advantage at the break.

Ethan Havard furthered the Warriors’ lead before Samy Kibula wrapped the two points up with a touch down on the 75th minute.

The win means Wigan finish in first place in the table and will play a home semi-final in the play off with details to be announced in due course.


Darrell Goulding named a strong and experienced side with five changes being made from the win against Castleford Tigers 12 days ago.

Callum Green, Aiden Roden and Samy Kibula all returned to the starting 13 while Caine Barnes and Dec O’Donnell were among the interchanges. Ben Holcroft, Amir Bourouh, Max Roberts, Ryan Forshaw and Nathan Wilde all dropped out of the match day squad.

Leeds Coach Rob Burrow made five changes as first team players Harry Newman and Mikolaj Oledzki both returned to the Under-19s team.


Both sides were on top in the opening 19 minutes but it was Wigan who broke the Leeds line with a James Barran try. Winger Cian Tyrer danced his way through the Rhinos pack and he got his side within 10 metres of the whitewash. After he was eventually brought to a halt, Callum Green found Samy Kibula who teased the opposition to place a quick-fire pass to Barran who went through the gap on the left side to dive over. Harry Smith converted and Wigan went 6-0 ahead.

It was Tyrer’s inventive bursts towards the line that saw the Warriors double their lead five minutes later with Barran getting a brace. As Tyrer was taken down in the tackle a few metres from the line, Sam Halsall found Smith whose intelligent awareness of a Wigan chase was rewarded as he stabbed a kick to the in-goal area and it was Barran who got to the ball first in front of the sticks to touch down for the second try of the match. Smith added the two and Darrell Goulding’s side went 12-0 in front at the break.

Wigan Warriors U19s 12–0 Leeds Rhinos U19s


It wasn’t till the 69th minute until the next points were scored as Wigan went in again for the third try. This time it was Barran who was the provider as the half back took a pass from Aiden Roden and tricked the Leeds defence with an excellent step back inside to find a gap. He then produced an outstanding offload to the supporting Ethan Havard who powered his way over the line from close range. Smith extended his team’s lead to 18 points as he made no mistake with the boot.

The cherry was placed firmly on top with five minutes to go as Kibula bulldozed his way over. Roden took the ball from dummy half and found Kibula who was waiting on the 10-metre line. The prop saw gaps in the Leeds line and he beat three defenders while racing towards the whitewash to crash over. Under-19s Player of the Year Smith put Wigan 24-0 in front as he made it four from four with the kicks.

Wigan Warriors U19s 24–0 Leeds Rhinos U19s

Match Details

Wigan Warriors U19s– 24

Tries: James Barran (2), Ethan Havard, Samy Kibula

Goals: Harry Smith 4/4

Leeds Rhinos U19s– 0

HT: 12-0

Wigan Warriors U19s: 1. Callum Green, 2. Cian Tyrer, 3. Sam Halsall, 4. Sam Grant, 5. Reece Hamlett, 6. James Barran, 7. Harry Smith, 25. Samy Kibula, 9. Aiden Roden, 10. Ethan Havard, 11. Joe Shorrocks, 12. James McDonnell, 13. Morgan Smithies

Interchange: 8. Ben Kilner, 21. Caine Barnes, 16. Dec O’Donnell, 17. Liam Byrne

Leeds Rhinos U19s: 1. Reese Chapman-Smith, 5. Kiedan Hartley, 4. Jack Broadbent, 3. Harry Newman, 2. Liam Whitton, 6. Harvey Spence, 7. Billy Jowitt, 8. Mikolaj Oledzki, 9. Corey Johnson, 10. Spencer Darely, 11. Owen Trout, 12. Alex Sutcliffe, 13. Loui McConnell

Interchange: 14. Will Scrimshaw, 17. Muizz Mustapha, 16. Tyler Dupree, 15. Tom Holroyd

Recent News & Media

Stick together: Flower
A must win: Hankinson
Getting to Know: Alison Burrows
We need momentum: Bullock